A Tangent on Adverbs

4 thoughts on “A Tangent on Adverbs”

  1. Very nice article! I love reading such posts because it’s interesting to see how the author teaches the readers. You have a excellent command of the language and enough knowledge of adverbs to pull this off! I guess people use adverbs a lot because of inner laziness. Most of the time I use adverbs then edit them out once I’m done with the story. There are just some words that don’t come to me off the top of my head. Once again, a great and informative post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Adverbs are one of the most difficult things to avoid, because they are so integrated in our natural speech patterns.
      That is something I didn’t really touch upon in this article, perhaps I should write my next piece on dialogue?
      We speak with adverbs on a regular basis though, so it would seem like a good idea to inject them into our writing in a similar fashion.
      As it stands it isn’t the best idea if you’re looking for a piece the reads and flows naturally.
      Which seems contradictory, I know! Haha.
      Removing as many as you can is a good practice. I am proud of you :).

      Like

Leave a Reply

